How One Thing Led To Another

February 2nd 2014

Two week’s ago when I decided to use the Chilli Pepper Wreath to raise some funds I hadn’t intended to take a break from my other projects to make two more cushions.  This house has so many applique cushions in it, it’s hard to find a place to put two more.  Talk about coals to Newscastle.

 

Wanting to show how the applique could be completed half way I made a version using six of the 12 colours of the Italy Oakshott collection that I showed you last week.  I was so pleased with this rendition but felt that perhaps those who went on to buy a Fat Eighth of Italy to make the cushion might feel a bit cheated to have only used half of the fabrics.  So this week I decided to use the other six.  Of course these were my second choices from the pack so nothing could have prepared me for how lovely the second cushion looks too.  And together it’s a slam dunk.  I am thrilled to pieces and never realised they would look so lovely together.  They are very sophisticated I feel and I have left them uncluttered by both tendrils and quilting.  When I showed them to my husband I expected a brief “Well done, nice….” but he looked at them for a while and said, “The colours remind me of the Art Deco houses along Miami beach in the evening, just beautiful” so I got more than I bargained for and also he’s absolutely right, the colours are just like the art deco houses along Miami beach!  Italy Collection.  Just lovely.

 

Image

Standard

7 thoughts on “How One Thing Led To Another

  1. Ann says:

    Wow Debby they do look fabulous without any quilting. They look very chic. I am keen to do this and just think no quilting so they will be finished much quicker.

  2. Christine Wickert says:

    I love both of them! I am astounded at how quickly you completed them, considering all that is going on in your life… What is the background?

  3. etherealuj says:

    Stunning – very modern. Are you using Oakshott for the background as well?

    On Sun, Feb 2, 2014 at 8:48 AM, deborahkemball

  4. wendy says:

    Love your comment “Like coals to Newcastle” it is so Australian, bought a smile to my face and love your cushions as well Deborah.

Leave a Reply

