Handquilting Video as requested (Finally!)

14th September 2014

Well better late than never. Gus and I finally got round to filming a bit of hand quilting before I complete my red Floral Impressions quilt. I’m sorry it has taken so long! I’m not particularly at ease in front of the camera which is only too evident but I hope you get the general idea of how I actually quilt.

Although I have been absent from my blog for the summer months I will be writing within the next week with all news of quilting,knitting and summer antics so for those of you who have kindly had the patience to wait, thank you! One of the reasons that my blogging has become quite so sporadic is that I have tended to just immediately write on my Facebook account which I started for the sole purpose of recording my quilting (and knitting). It was open to the public but as recently I have added a few family pictures too you now have to ask to “Friend” me to see my posts which are mainly about sewing and knitting. If you are a fellow Facebooker who would like access to my posts please just make a friend request and I will happily respond positively.

Hoping you all had a great summer and are looking forward to some serious sewing and quilting over the winter months!

Standard

6 thoughts on “Handquilting Video as requested (Finally!)

  1. pamela says:

    Hi Deborah, what a great video and cameraman. I use the same (cheap) thimble as you; although I have tried numerous others; and for the underneath hand I use an “Aunt Becky” which I guess is similar to your method, to push the needle back to the front of the quilt. Deborah what size needle do you use? Good to see you again.
    Best Wishes
    Pamela in Scotland

  2. etherealuj says:

    Thank you so much! I’ve been looking forward to seeing how you quilt. One question – in addition to the needle size – is how long the video actually is. Mine stops abruptly with you in mid-sentence at 1:43 — did something get chopped off or am I doing something wrong?

  3. Christine Wickert says:

    I had the same problem. The video abruptly got cut off. I am dlighted to see that you also do not use a hoop, Debby! I use a (cheap) thimble on my right hand and wrap blue painter tape on the middle finger of my hand under the quilt. The tape amazingly absorbs the point of the needle and thus I am spared a bloodied and shredded receiving finger.

    Chris Wickert

  4. kay says:

    I’ve been studying this video to learn your technique, and I’m wondering how you baste your quilts. I like the no-hoop approach!

Leave a Reply

